Rank Structure

Rank Structure

The GAF’s rank structure is similar to the RAF’s rank structure from where its ranks were derived.


In descending order of importance the GAF officer ranks are:

  • Marshal of the Air Force
  • Air Chief Marshal
  • Air Marshal
  • Air Vice Marshal
  • Air Commodore
  • Group Captain
  • Wing Commander
  • Squadron Leader
  • Flight Lieutenant
  • Flying Officer
  • Pilot Officer
  • Flight Cadet


In descending order of importance the GAF airman ranks are:

  • Master Air Warrant Officer
  • Senior Warrant Officer
  • Warrant Officer Class I
  • Warrant Officer Class II
  • Flight Sergeant
  • Sergeant
  • Corporal
  • Leading Aircraftman (LAC)
  • Aircraftman Class I (ACI)
  • Aircraftman Class II (ACII)